Real Madrid’s title win – By the Numbers 

Real Madrid have extended their record as the winningest club in La Liga, with their rout of Espanyol over the weekend gave them their 35th title. 

As they lifted the trophy at the Bernabeu as champions for the second time in three seasons, we look at how Los Blancos have managed to reclaim the title they lost last season. 

4 – Matches to spare. Round 34 was the earliest they’ve clinched the league title since 1990, where John Toshack’s men engineered a 28-match unbeaten run to win it. 

11 – The unbeaten run that they made from October 24, where they have won all but two matches (both draws in that stretch), until they were beaten by Getafe to open 2022. 

Although they were in second (behind Sociedad) in weeks 9-12, that win at Granada in week 13 gave them the pole position that they have never relinquished. 

0 – The number of times a Real Madrid player has been sent off in the entire duration of the campaign (for now), and they can be on their way to end a season without a red card (either a straight or a second bookable offence). 

And to trace from last season, they have not been dismissed for the past 42 league matches. Talk about playing tough and disciplined defence. 

Also, zero is the amount that they paid for David Alaba, with the Bayern defender coming to the Bernabeu on a free transfer. 

1 – This represents Eduardo Camavinga, the only player bought by the champions. The French international was picked up for 31 million euros from Rennes and signed a six-year deal. 

He had appeared in 23 league matches and scored twice as a holding midfielder, as he was a perfect secondary to the elder Casemiro who was the master in that role. 

It was a timely and a jackpot of a move, with Real even earning a profit for selling Raphael Varane and Martin Odegaard earlier in that month to pursue him.  

24 – out of 73 goals they have scored (and counting) have come from the final fifteen minutes of the game. It might be fewer than the other title-winning sides of the past decade, but they were timely strikes that gave them all three points. 

May be an image of 1 person and text that says 'PARTIDO adidas TNE OILY ONe WITH TNE S LEAGUES 시용주'

18 – Represents the years spent by Carlo Ancelotti to win at least one of all five major European leagues as a manager, with his title wins with Milan (2004), Chelsea (2010), PSG (2013) and Bayern (2017) and now with Madrid, where he finally added it to his existing collection with the Copa Del Rey and the fabled La Decima. SERIAL WINNER.