Celta Vigo

RC Celta de Vigo Summary

Real Club Celta de Vigo, SAD, or more commonly known as Celta Vigo, are a football club based in Galicia. Originally known as Club Celta, they were founded in 1923 after a merger of two teams that were based in Vigo. Balaídos, their home stadium, seats 29,000. 

Os Celestes have not won silverware in any of the current active tournaments. The closest they got was becoming a finalist at the Copa del Rey three times. Their highest finish ever at the La Liga to date has been fourth place. 

RC Celta de Vigo experienced a period of success in the late 1990s and early 2000s and were given the nickname of “EuroCelta”. They reached the quarterfinals of the UEFA Cup in 1998-99 and 1999-2000. They also reached the round of 16 in the 2003-04 edition of the UEFA Champions League. In addition, they also played in the finals of the Copa del Rey in 2001. 

Some of Celta’s well-known players include Alexander Mostovoi, Pablo Cavallero, Eduardo Berizzo, Claude Makélélé, David Rodríguez, Paco Herrera, and Iago Aspas.