LaLiga Club RCD Espanyol Profile

RCD Espanyol de Barcelona Summary

Espanyol, whose full name is Reial Club Deportiu Espanyol de Barcelona, SAD, are a club founded in 1900 in Barcelona. They play their home matches at RCDE Stadium, which could accommodate 40,000 spectators. 

The club went through birth pangs, undergoing numerous name changes and a disbandment. They were relaunched as Club Deportivo Español in 1909. 

The Periquitos have won the Copa del Rey four times, most recently in 2006. They have also reached the finals of the UEFA Cup twice. Despite being a founding member, they have never won La Liga. 

El derbi Barceloní is the name given to Espanyol’s rivalry with FC Barcelona and is the most played local derby in La Liga’s history. The win-loss record in this rivalry might not be in their favor, but Espanyol hold the distinction of having the largest winning margin, 6-0, which they did in 1951. 

Raúl Tamudo is the player with most appearances for RCD Espanyol with 340 La Liga matches and 389 overall. The club has also retired the number of defender Daniel Jarque.